Using Photo File Handling Settings

Home » Using Photo File Handling Settings

Using Photo File Handling Settings 

Photo File Handling allows for controlling what file types are uploaded to the gallery, and saved to the external storage device, as well as options for automatically removing images from the SD card or SSD when free space starts to run out to prevent captures from failing due to lack of free space. 

Photos will remain on the SD card until the Photo File Handling options have been completed* where the photos will automatically be removed from the SD card to keep available free space to a maximum. 

There may be instances that cause the files to be deleted before completing the desired Photo File Handling configuration, such as when updating the firmware or changing file handling settings. 

The Settings Explained 

Files to upload to cloud 

This setting determines what file types will be uploaded to your gallery and selected Photo Forwarding services. RAW files will not be displayed on the photo gallery. 

Available options: 

    • JPEG 
    • JPEG + RAW 
    • RAW 
    • None 

Files to transfer to SSD 

This setting determines what file types are saved to the SSD before being deleted from the SD card. 

Available options: 

    • JPEG 
    • JPEG + RAW 
    • RAW 
    • None 

Start deleting old photos from the external drive, when its free space drops below 2% 

To create space for your latest photos on the SSD, oldest photos will be deleted when free space drops below 2% capacity when this option is selected. This option is best used when capturing JPG only and when all images are already configured to be uploaded to the gallery. Avoid using this option if capturing RAW and not uploading them as you will need to schedule site visits to retrieve the RAW files from the SSD before they are deleted. 

Start deleting old photos from the SD card, when its free space drops below 256 MB  

This setting helps prevent the SD card from filling up. When the camera’s storage fills up, it takes more time to process photos and could cause performance issues such as camera slow down and capture failure.  

It is important to note that this setting may delete photos that haven’t been saved or uploaded in some circumstances and depending on the configuration. For example, if configuring the system for a period of fast capture where there is not enough time to upload all the photos, the SD card will begin to fill up and if it reaches this 256MB threshold, the system may automatically clear images from the SD card that haven’t yet uploaded. 

    Lodge a Support Ticket

    If this article did not resolve your issue, please lodge a Support ticket.